“Use Twitter and Facebook,” Multi-Pubbed Author Says

Brandilyn Collins – @brandilyn for those of you on Twitter – is one hard-working author. I admire her marketing expertise and  willingness to share from that expertise. Nearly every week something on her blog, http://forensicsandfaith.blogspot.com, adds to my arsenal of marketing tools. She does this daily, in addition to always writing her daily word count.

Recently (June 4) Brandilyn wrote about the benefits of partnering Facebook and Twitter together as 2 key ingredients of her marketing strategy.  And because both services can be linked, what you write on 1 site automatically shows up on the other.  Brandilyn also notes that messages from fans which are posted on Twitter are public. That means every single @Brandilyn follower sees, reads, benefits from the fan mail of 1 individual. Is that great exposure, or what?

Brandilyn writes, “If you are a published author and are not yet on Twitter, I encourage you to start an account. It takes time at first to build followers. But at this point – I’m around 4400 followers now – my follow/unfollow is all automated. I don’t have to do anything to get followers – they find me, and my account increases.”

“An important statistic,” Brandilyn continues, “[is] when I tweet about my blog post with a link, I see about a 30% rise in viewers for that post.”

All New Leaf Publishing Group authors have now received their 2009 Author’s Guide and I encourage you to begin building your online platform asap. If you didn’t receive your copy, or if you’re not yet a New Leaf Publishing Group author and would like a copy, email robert@newleafpress.net and I’ll send you one.

Good writing!

(quoted by permission from Brandilyn Collins)

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

